Doohan and Vesti quickest on Day 2 of post-season testing at Yas Marina

Jack Doohan set the tempo early on Day 2 at Yas Marina Circuit, ending the morning session on high with a 1:35.990. Frederik Vesti adopted up within the afternoon, setting the quickest time with a 1:36.462.

The Virtuosi Racing driver completed with a time faster than Ayumu Iwasa set in Qualifying on the ultimate race weekend of the season. Jehan Daruvala and Iwasa ended up one-tenth again in second and third.

PREMA Racing’s Vesti took excessive spot through the afternoon section with Iwasa in second and teammate Oliver Bearman finishing the highest three.


Many of the area have been fast out of the field to get some laps on the board. Roy Nissany, Théo Pourchaire and Iwasa every led within the early levels earlier than Enzo Fittipaldi broke the 1:36 barrier to guide a Carlin 1-2 forward of Zane Maloney. 

It wasn’t lengthy earlier than MP Motorsport returned to the highest of the timing sheets, having gone quickest in Day 1’s opening session. Bolting on a contemporary set of soppy tyres, Daruvala put in a number of flying laps to decrease the benchmark, with the time to beat falling from 1:36.660 to a 1:36.160.

default image

After an hour of operating, the session was halted after Victor Martins within the ART Grand Prix automobile crashed at Flip 16, bringing out the Crimson Flag for barrier repairs. 

Doohan grew to become the primary driver into the 1:35s behind the wheel of the Virtuosi automobile, enhancing on Daruvala’s time by 0.170s. The Alpine junior’s 1:35.990 remained high all through the ultimate hour, ending forward of Daruvala and Iwasa.

Ralph Boschung ended the morning fourth forward of Fittipaldi in P5 and his 2023 Campos Racing teammate Kush Maini sixth. Nissany was seventh-fastest for Charouz Racing System. Dennis Hauger closed the session in ninth, splitting the 2 ART vehicles of Pourchaire and Martins.

PREMA Racing’s Frederik Vesti and Juan Manuel Correa, testing for Van Amersfoort Racing, maximised their obtainable operating time and accomplished essentially the most laps with 53 every.


The main target was on long-run tempo in a busy afternoon session, led by Vesti from early on. Gradual enhancements from the Mercedes junior lowered his benchmark by six-tenths. His 1:38.283 put him 1.3s away from Dennis Hauger and Iwasa.

Contact between Doohan and Maini at Flip 9 halfway by way of brought about the one stoppage of the session.

Into the ultimate hour and Trident’s Clément Novalak moved up into second forward of 2023 PREMA rookie Bearman. As the one driver within the 1:36s till the ultimate 10 minutes, Vesti’s finest effort remained away from the sphere, enhancing additional with a 1:36.462 late on.

default image

A sequence of late private finest occasions put each PREMAs inside the highest three, with Bearman splitting DAMS duo Iwasa and Arthur Leclerc in third.

Maloney was six-tenths off the highest spot in fifth, forward of Novalak and the 2 Charouz Racing System vehicles of Nissany and Brad Benavides. Roman Stanek completed ninth, while Hauger rounded out the highest 10. 11 drivers broke the 50–lap mark, with Pourchaire reaching essentially the most mileage on 67 laps accomplished.

The third and remaining day of post-season testing will start at 9AM native time. Van Amersfoort Racing can have an altered line-up, with Rafael Villagómez taking on the #25 automobile and partnering Juan Manuel Correa within the #24.


1 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 1:35.990 44
2 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport 1:36.160 30
3 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1:36.165 41
4 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1:36.311 33
5 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin 1:36.335 21
6 Kush Maini Campos Racing 1:36.349 49
7 Roy Nissany Charouz Racing System 1:36.352 30
8 Théo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1:36.368 36
9 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1:36.427 31
10 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1:36.579 20
11 Frederik Vesti PREMA Racing 1:36.596 53
12 Clément Novalak Trident 1:36.642 30
13 Zane Maloney Carlin 1:36.691 33
14 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing 1:36.764 45
15 Arthur Leclerc DAMS 1:36.849 42
16 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing 1:36.869 36
17 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix 1:37.083 41
18 Roman Stanek Trident 1:37.152 34
19 Brad Benavides Charouz Racing System 1:37.243 46
20 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing 1:37.332 53
21 Jak Crawford Hitech Grand Prix 1:37.378 42
22 Oliver Bearman PREMA Racing 1:40.969 25


1 Frederik Vesti PREMA Racing 1:36.462 39
2 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1:36.517 48
3 Oliver Bearman PREMA Racing 1:36.715 47
4 Arthur Leclerc DAMS 1:36.829 39
5 Zane Maloney Carlin 1:37.095 58
6 Clément Novalak Trident 1:37.123 16
7 Roy Nissany Charouz Racing System 1:37.467 38
8 Brad Benavides Charouz Racing System 1:37931 52
9 Roman Stanek Trident 1:37.934 55
10 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1:38.667 48
11 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin 1:38.828 50
12 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing 1:39.002 58
13 Théo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1:39.502 67
14 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport 1:39.512 50
15 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1:39.604 55
16 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 1:40.090 25
17 Isack Hadjar Hitech Grand Prix 1:40.164 59
18 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1:40.184 37
19 Jak Crawford Hitech Grand Prix 1:40.530 59
20 Kush Maini Campos Racing 1:41.206 21
21 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing 1:59.089 50
22 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing 2:00.291 43

Leave a Comment