ICC awards 2022 – Babar Azam and Nat Sciver named Cricketers of the Yr; Ben Stokes wins Check award

Ben Stokes has been named ICC Males’s Check Cricketer of the Yr, after main England’s beautiful revival within the format. Babar Azam collected the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy awarded to the ICC’s Males’s Cricketer of the Yr, whereas Nat Sciver received the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy as Ladies’s Cricketer of the Yr.

“I might wish to thank the ICC, the panel and the followers for voting for me because the ICC Males’s Check Cricketer of the Yr,” Stokes mentioned. “That is right down to the England gamers and administration for what has been such a optimistic yr in Check cricket. We’ve got performed some unbelievable cricket with collection wins towards New Zealand, South Africa, a major efficiency towards India and a historic victory in Pakistan.

“We’re having fun with our cricket and love having enjoyable wherever we play. The way in which by which we method Check cricket is to excite the followers and making it a spectacle for everybody to get behind and luxuriate in whatever the end result for England.

Babar Azam wins the double

Babar was additionally named Males’s ODI Participant of the Yr, and is the second consecutive Pakistani winner of the Sobers Trophy after Shaheen Shah Afridi took residence the award for 2021. Babar was the one batter to go 2000 worldwide runs throughout the three codecs, averaging 54.12 with eight a whole lot, and likewise led Pakistan to the finals of the Asia Cup and T20 World Cup.

“I really feel humbled to have been voted as winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy and be part of the ranks of among the most iconic and revered names who’ve beforehand received the most important and most prestigious particular person award in our nice sport,” he mentioned. “I proceed to look as much as these gamers in addition to champions of the previous for inspiration, motivation and enchancment.

“As cricket is a staff sport, this recognition and achievement wouldn’t have been potential with out the overwhelming assist of my household, staff, followers and the establishment, to all of whom I’m enormously indebted and grateful.”

Nat Sciver additionally baggage two awards

Sciver was additionally a two-time winner, choosing up the Ladies’s ODI Participant of the Yr award along with the Heyhoe Flint Trophy, having scored 1346 runs and brought 22 wickets for England throughout codecs – together with an astonishing innings 148 not out from 121 balls within the ODI World Cup closing.

“It is pretty to have been awarded the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Ladies’s Cricketer of the Yr, particularly as Rachael was such a legend of the ladies’s sport in England and Wales,” Sciver mentioned.

“It is all the time a privilege to be given particular person honours however no private achievements are potential with out the onerous work and togetherness of the entire staff. Choosing up a trophy or a medal is all of the extra particular if you do it alongside your teammates so hopefully that is what 2023 has in retailer.”

ICC awards winners for 2022

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy: Babar Azam

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy: Nat Sciver

Males’s Check Cricketer of the Yr: Ben Stokes

Males’s ODI Cricketer of the Yr: Babar Azam

Ladies’s ODI Cricketer of the Yr: Nat Sciver

Males’s T20I Cricketer of the Yr: Suryakumar Yadav

Ladies’s T20I Cricketer of the Yr: Tahlia McGrath

Males’s Rising Cricketer of the Yr: Marco Jansen

Ladies’s Rising Cricketer of the Yr: Renuka Singh

Males’s Affiliate Cricketer of the Yr: Gerhard Erasmus

Ladies’s Affiliate Cricketer of the Yr: Esha Oza

David Shepherd Trophy: Richard Illingworth

Spirit of Cricket Award: Aasif Sheikh

Leave a Comment