Winner of ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2022 revealed

The ICC Spirit of Cricket Award is yearly awarded by the ICC to recognise the participant or group upholding the spirit of the sport.

Nepal wicketkeeper Aasif Sheikh has been named the recipient of the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2022 for his determination to not run out Andy McBrine after the Irish star tripped whereas making an attempt a run.

Aasif thus turns into the primary participant from Nepal to win the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award.

What occurred

Nepal and Eire confronted off within the sixth match of the Quadrangular sequence in Oman on 14 February 2022. Eire have been put in to bat first however Nepal had the scoring fee on a leash by selecting up common wickets.

At 113/8 on the finish of 18 overs, Eire wanted a late flourish with the bat to publish a combating whole.

Kamal Singh Airee was tasked with bowling the nineteenth over. Off the third ball, Mark Adair went for an enormous heave over leg-side however the ball hit his leg and dropped in the direction of the leg facet. The bowler, in his try to retrieve the ball, collided with non-striker Andy McBrine, because of which the Irish batter tripped and fell midway on the pitch.

Airee shortly obtained to the ball and threw it to keeper Aasif Sheikh, at which level McBrine obtained again up however was properly in need of his crease. Nonetheless, Aasif determined to not whip the bails off, a gesture that obtained widespread recognition throughout the cricketing fraternity.

Eire ended up posting 127 and Nepal fell 17 runs quick as they have been bowled out for 111.

For the gesture, Aasif Sheikh bagged the Spirit of Cricket Award.

This spirit is described within the preamble to the legal guidelines of cricket: “Cricket is a sport that owes a lot of its distinctive attraction to the truth that it must be performed not solely inside its legal guidelines but additionally inside the spirit of the sport. Any motion which is seen to abuse this spirit causes harm to the sport itself.”

The preamble goes on to say: “The spirit of the sport includes respect for:

* Your opponents
* Your individual captain and group
* The position of the umpires
* The sport’s conventional values

Leave a Comment