World Cup 2022 prize cash: Argentina earn $42m with victory over France

Argentina have gained the World Cup last, beating France on penalty kicks to raise some of the well-known trophies in all of sport.

However the World Cup trophy just isn’t the one factor Argentina have gained. 

The World Cup winners additionally obtain one of many extra beneficiant payouts on provide in soccer.

The 2022 match will award a record-breaking prize pot, with all 32 nations who performed in Qatar receiving a payout from FIFA.

Right here’s what you want to learn about prize cash on the 2022 World Cup and the way it has modified over time.

What’s the prize cash for the World Cup?

When prize cash for a World Cup, it have to be famous that the entire pot is split up by every of the 32 groups competing.

That cash is split up depending on efficiency and progress on the match; even groups which might be knocked out within the group stage will obtain a share.

For the 2022 World Cup, FIFA set the prize pot complete at $44o million. That’s the most that has ever been allotted for a World Cup.

How a lot prize cash is given to the World Cup winners?

In loads of world sporting tournaments, the winner receives the lion’s share of the entire prize pot. However that isn’t the case with the World Cup.

In reality, the winners gained’t even go residence with 10 per cent of the $440m.

The champions — who will likely be topped on Sunday, December 18 — will obtain $42m, which is $4m greater than France had been awarded for profitable the 2018 World Cup.

France acquired $38m for profitable the 2018 World Cup (Photograph: Matthias Hangst/Getty Pictures)

Meaning there may be nonetheless one other $404m that must be divided among the many different 31 competing groups.

How is the World Cup prize cash divided?

The runners-up will obtain $30m.

For the crushed semi-finalists, the third-place play-off is commonly seen as a quite pointless fixture however these in cost will likely be conscious that it’s price an additional $2m this yr. The group that finishes third will likely be given $27m whereas there’s a $25m prize for ending fourth.

The 4 crushed quarter-finalists will all obtain $17m whereas $13m is given to the eight groups that misplaced within the last-16.

The 16 different nations which might be unable to make it out of the group stage on the World Cup are given $9m, no matter what number of factors they picked up of their three video games.

Every nation has to determine how a lot of that cash they hand out to the gamers and workers. That’s normally a choice made forward of the match with efficiency targets laid out for wins at every stage of the World Cup.

In 2018, Noel Le Graet, president of the France Soccer Federation (FFF), revealed that the gamers would obtain a 30 per cent share of the prize cash.

France acquired $38m for beating Croatia within the last which implies every participant can have acquired greater than $350,000 for the triumph in Russia.

How does the prize cash on the 2022 World Cup evaluate to earlier tournaments?

The 1982 World Cup hosted in Spain was the primary iteration to incorporate prize cash.

As you would possibly anticipate, the entire awarded to the groups competing on the match has modified considerably within the final 40 years with the winners 4 many years in the past receiving a comparatively paltry $2.2m.

Italy had been the primary World Cup winners to pocket some prize cash in 1982 (Photograph: Allsport/Getty Pictures/Hulton Archive)

That has elevated with each match — with a big spike between 2002 and 2006 — to a stage the place this yr’s winner will obtain $42m from FIFA.

Right here is how each profitable group has been rewarded within the final 40 years.

World Cup winners’ prize cash

  • 1982 World Cup | Winners: Italy — $2.2m
  • 1986 World Cup | Winners: Argentina — $2.8m
  • 1990 World Cup | Winners: West Germany — $3.5m
  • 1994 World Cup | Winners: Brazil — $4m
  • 1998 World Cup | Winners: France — $6m
  • 2002 World Cup | Winners: Brazil — $8m
  • 2006 World Cup | Winners: Italy — $20m
  • 2010 World Cup | Winners: Spain — $30m
  • 2014 World Cup | Winners: Germany — $35m
  • 2018 World Cup | Winners: France — $ 38m
  • 2022 World Cup | Winners: TBC — $42m

In the meantime right here is how the entire prize pot has appeared on the World Cup within the final 20 years (as the info is simply out there from 2002 onwards).

World Cup complete prize cash

  • 2002 World Cup | Hosts: Japan & South Korea — $134m
  • 2006 World Cup | Hosts: Germany — $236m
  • 2010 World Cup | Hosts: South Africa — $348m
  • 2014 World Cup | Hosts: Brazil  — $358m
  • 2018 World Cup | Hosts: Russia — $400m
  • 2022 World Cup | Hosts: Qatar — $440m

How does the World Cup prize cash evaluate to different main sporting tournaments?

Prize cash varies throughout totally different tournaments and totally different international locations.

On the World Cup, the profitable group is given the prize cash after which they determine how it’s divided between the gamers and workers. Whereas within the US — within the Tremendous Bowl, for instance — the prize cash is labored out by how a lot cash every profitable participant will obtain.

Every member of the Los Angeles Rams aspect that gained Tremendous Bowl LVI again in February got $150,000 every.

The Houston Astros gamers that gained the World Sequence final month every obtained their fingers on an additional $440,000.

Members of the victorious Milwaukee Bucks aspect within the NBA acquired a prize someplace in between these two: $270,000 every.

Soccer stays probably the most profitable sport the world over. After profitable the Champions League in Could, Actual Madrid picked up greater than $83m in prize cash.

The multi-billion pound pot out there within the Premier League continues to set the benchmark for sporting prize cash. This season’s winners are set to earn within the area of $200m whereas even relegated groups will pocket over $120m.

(Prime picture: Robert Cianflone/Getty Pictures)

Leave a Comment